Adventure Time – “The Limit” Review

Posted: April 18, 2011 by toonfaithful in Animation, Animation Reviews, Authors, ToonFaithful

I haven’t posted a blog post about Adventure Time in a long time, and by a long time, I mean since the creation of this blog. From the “What Time Is It?!” post, I have to say that my thoughts on the show have changed since then. The first season of Adventure Time was decent. Had a mixture of great episodes, good episodes, not-so-good episodes, and bad episodes. I hoped season two could be better and currently in 2011, it is! I watched “The Limit” last Monday on Cartoon Network and since this blog has been lacking articles lately, I thought it would be nice to share my thoughts on the episode. So welcome to my review of Adventure Time’s newest episode, “The Limit”.

My thoughts on “The Limit”: Good episode overall, not necessarily a great episode, not a bad episode, but a good one. It’s one of those episodes you can watch on a rainy day or when you are bored at home. The episode was much better than “Belly and the Beast”(Sorry Andy Samburg, haven’t seen anything from you since Hot Rod).  Yes, this episode really had my mind focused and kept my body on the couch rather than getting up to turn the station. I’d like to get this out right now, I watch Adventure Time for Finn and Jake’s adventures, not because it has humor. I don’t judge this show on humor mainly because there are some episodes that do not feature much humor and focus on action more. Especially when we get to know Lich King(A character Pen mentioned will have a far more prominent role in season two) a bit more, he will be bringing more action than Ice King, I believe.

Sorry for getting off-topic, just wanted to get that out. Anyways, “The Limit” was about Finn and Jake wanting to wish for an Ancient Psychic Tandem War Elephant and had to travel through to the center of the maze to grant the wish. In order for Finn and Jake to find their way back out, Jake stretches himself so he can guide himself and Finn out of the maze. Warning: If you do not want to spoiled for this episode, then I suggest you should leave. Otherwise, stay! Okay, you can see where this one is going. You have Jake extending himself so far throughout a maze so he can guide himself and Finn out. Finn: “Sweet! We’re so going to make it out of here!” Hold on, only problem is how far can Jake extend himself which we found out in the episode. Not necessarily how far(like with numbers), but we found out that Jake has a limit with his body. I was impressed with this episode because of that fact. So happy that Jake isn’t this “I can extend forever” type of dog, but he has limits just like everyone else in the Land of Ooo. It’s just like running. You can jog/run for a good amount of time and then you become tired.

Earlier in the post I mentioned something about humor, well…this episode was pretty humorous. Three words: Hot Dog Knights. They were hilarious in this episode and definitely know how to keep a spirit up. One wanted a box and one wanted to blow himself up. Those were some nice wishes, guys!! Didn’t like them in comparison to Jake’s health. Really didn’t like how they wanted Jake to keep stretching because he has a limit just like Finn, just like the Hot Dog Knights, and everyone else in the Land of Ooo. Anyways, Finn and Jake wished themselves an Ancient Psychic Tandem War Elephant and escaped from the maze. Hurray! That elephant looked very cool. Myself loving Elephants, they are my favorite animals, but the one in Adventure Time beats them all.

All in all, good episode of Adventure Time, I give it a 7/10. Loved how the writers told us that Jake has a limit and can’t stretch forever. I’ll remember this one.

Leave a Reply

