Cartoon Review – Transformers: Prime (Spoilers)

Posted: December 3, 2010 by toonfaithful in Animation, Animation Reviews, Authors, ToonFaithful

Transformers has grown to become a successful franchise. The live-action adaptation, Transformers, made tons of money in the box office. The cartoons have been eye candy for the kids. From The Transformers(Transformers: Generation 1) to now, the franchise has gained a large audience each day. My history with the Transformers franchise is not much. In fact, the only time I watched something Transformers-related was when the live-action movie came out in 2007. I didn’t watch it because I was a die-hard fan, but I watched it because I knew what Transformers was and I loved cartoon to live-action adaptations. The movie was great, the cast did a good job acting, and Peter Cullen was fantastic as always. I wanted to know more about the Autobots and Decepticons, so I started watching Transformers: Animated. It was a great show. After watching a few episodes I had to give up. At that time, I didn’t know where to watch episodes from Generation 1.

Later in 2009, hearing about Hasbro and Discovery Communications new channel called The Hub was awesome. Saw something about a new Transformers cartoon on the internet, which got me hyped up.  It was called Transformers: Prime. This was a chance for me to watch a Transformers cartoon again. This was my only chance because I couldn’t buy DVDs. Anyways, enough chit-chat, let’s get down to business. Darkness Rising Part 1 was alright. Didn’t like the fact they killed off an autobot in episode but other than that it was good. I think the crew should have waited a while before introducing Dark Energon in the show. That way, the character’s death would’ve made more of an impact than it did in the pilot. Transformers: Prime isn’t the only show that has done this, many others as well. It’s a common mistake but I’ll let it slide. Wasn’t surprised to see an ordinary teenager again in the show. The show is produced by Steven Puri & Mandy Safarvi who have worked on the live-action Transformers films. The teenager’s name is Jack Darby. A 16-year-old boy who…encountered an autobot named Acree… Ladies and gentlemen, I think we know where this will end up. Yes, the Autobots gather up not only one, but two more human beings. I gotta admit, parts of the pilot were predictable but that didn’t make me stop watching.

Forgot to mention something, the cast and voice-acting for this show is AMAZING. Peter Cullen as Optimus Prime, Frank Welker as Megatron, Steven Blum as Starscream, and many more! Really, what more can you get? Back to the Darkness Rising Part 1 & 2, both episodes were good. There were some cons like parts of the show being predictable and killing off a character in the first episode but when you ignore that, Transformers: Prime is a good show. Animation is perfect, voice-acting and cast is great, and the storyline is good.

Check out Transformers: Prime on The Hub February 2011!

 

 


Leave a Reply

