The Notaku Diaries: An Introduction

Posted: October 10, 2010 by silvertomatoproductions in Notaku Diaries, Uncategorized

Good evening, Scratchi-verse!

Chances are that, if you’re reading this, you know about the now infamous and divisive post I made on this blog last week. In it, I detailed my long and deep-seated disgust at many modern anime shows, a disgust which pushed many of our readers to be a little angry at me, some even calling my post a “croc”.

There may be some similarities.

But, that’s not what I’m here to talk about today. Rather, I’d like to talk about the second part of my post. (But watch out for crocs!)

They don't even look HUMAN.

In the second part of the post, I made my intent clear. The point of the post, you see, was not a tooth-and-nail assault against anime. Instead, it was a plea to The ScratchPad’s audience (and wow, there are a LOT of you. Seriously, thanks.) to get me back onto the anime train, to provide the fuel for me to take one last desperate run on the roller-coaster of Japanese animation. And you all delivered. In addition to the multitude of comments, Tweets, and Facebook messages the post received, my own fellow ‘Padders tried their best to get me onto the anime bandwagon. Shortly thereafter, I announced via Twitter that my posts for this blog would radically change in the year 2011. If you haven’t quite put two and two together, I’ll fill you in below the cut.

This awesome Notaku Diaries logo was designed by RacattackForce!

In 2011, I’ll be writing The Notaku Diaries.

It’s no secret that the internet has had a massive anime community since its inception. Thousands of dedicated anime fans from around the world have flocked to the binary world of zeroes and ones in order to share the experience of watching and loving a flock of anime. Some of the discussion is great and civil, and some of it degrades into a mess of all-caps screaming and name-calling within minutes. But, in all of that discussion, I’ve never once seen someone who’s gone into anime completely blind and unshapen tell their story. If somebody dove headfirst into the anime pool for 365 days, would they stick the landing, or crack their skull open? What anime out there is truly enjoyable to somebody who doesn’t have a taste for the medium, and which are overblown sacred cows? There’s often much talk about making anime “suitable for American audiences”. That’s all well and good, but has any “American audience” truly documented their journey into the medium? The answer to all of these questions is a resounding “I have no fricking clue”. But, over the year 2011, we’re all going to find out. Every Friday, Saturday, and Sunday of next year, I’ll be watching anime. Three hours of it, to be precise. Then, on Sunday, I’ll be taking to the microphone in my bedroom to record a “diary” of sorts, chronicling my journey from “notaku” to “otaku”. You’ll find out which anime I liked, which anime I didn’t. which was the best of the week, and my overall thoughts on my new venture into the world of anime. The journals will post on Monday morning, and the process will repeat until New Year’s Eve, switching out one anime with another as I finish it. This process, however, is subject to change. I, however, won’t touch it unless you all tell me to in comments. Your feedback is essential to make this project happen!

So, at this point, you’re probably wondering WHICH anime will be put under the Notaku microscope. In short, being clinically insane, I accepted every (Yes, every!) anime that was recommended to me, provided it didn’t exceed 100 episodes. There’s a “The Notaku Diaries” tab above that you can click to  see the full 2011 schedule, but here’s a small sample:

Kino’s Journey
Paranoia Agent
The Tatami Galaxy 

Samurai X: Trust and Betrayal
FLCL
AiR

Princess Tutu
Trigun
Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann

Azumanga Diaoh
Outlaw Star
The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya

BECK: Mongolian Chop Squad
Cowboy BeBop
Clannad

With that, there’s only one word left to say: thanks. Thanks to everyone who took time to recommend me some great anime, and thanks to RacattackForce for working so hard in order to make sure this project didn’t crash and burn. Most of all, thanks to all of you who continue to support and read The ScratchPad. You’ll get a few more weeks of normalcy from me, including a Thought Balloon tomorrow, but in January, I’m taking the plunge. I hope to see you there.

Comments
  1. jennytablina says:

    Good list!

    My only question is….no Osamu Tezuka anime? Surely you should have something by the father of manga and anime in there?

    I’m sure I mentioned Kimba and Astro Boy in my post too and Kimba is only 52 episodes and 2003/1980’s Astro Boy are each 52 episodes too. I would like to hear your reasoning otherwise for looking Tezuka’s works over.

  2. Sketch says:

    You have some numbering mistakes from the looks of it unless you intended to skip some episodes and watch others twice.

    Good variety in your choices though. It’ll be difficult to track some of those down unfortunately. Cyborg 009 in particular so if you know where to find all of it, be sure to let me know. 😄

Leave a Reply

