Don’s Blog: My Anime Picks

Posted: October 2, 2010 by doneast in Animation, Animation Editorials
Tags: ,

Well, I wanted to do an article on “Scooby Doo: Mystery INC.” before the show resumes this Monday but apparently the boss wants me to do some anime article.  For those of you who don’t know who I am, along with posting on this blog, I also run a semi-sort-of-successful cult classic-like anime review series. (GO WATCH)  And up to this point I hardly ever talked about anime since well I just use my show as an OP/ED when it came to anime from time to time.  I want to use the Scratch Pad as a way to vent out my thoughts on other fields besides just anime.  But if I have to do this, fine, the Anime Abomination guy will tell you what I think you should watch.

"IN COLOR!"

Cowboy Bebop

Shame on my fellow Padders for not mentioning this earlier on, I thought this would be mentioned at the start.  But I guess have to bring it up.  It’s the greatest anime ever made, period.  Great animation, great music, fun characters and stories; it’s the perfect beginner series.  You can find the original or the “remixed” version where the sound is upgraded.

"It's a show about nothing... Except high schoo girls, cats, and SATA ANDAGI!"

Azumanga Daioh

Okay, their main characters are all girls, what of it?  It’s a funny show that’s like anyone that likes Seinfeld & early Kevin Smith movies will easily enjoy.  Plus how can you not go “aww…” at Chiyo-chan, especially in the penguin costume?  If you don’t, you have no soul.  You can still find copies of the series if you look hard enough.

"Left to Right: Cute Android Girl, Ultra-Hot-God-I-Want-Her Catgirl, Main Character, Kid Sidekick, & The Token Samurai"

Outlaw Star.

THIS!  IS!  THE!  SHIT!  I mean, as JesuOtaku said in her review, it’s the ultimate anime for a sci-fi geek.  Every cliché in science fiction is there, from androids to space battles.  A rag-tag group travels the galaxy to find a rare legendary treasure and have to deal with space pirates to get it.  It tends to be overlooked because it came out the same time as more popular space westerns like Bebop & Trigun.  But if you can find the complete collection DVD, get it, you won’t be sorry.

"Oh Haruko, you can Fooly Cooly me anytime."

FLCL

It’s only six episodes long but man, what a six episode run.  This is the show that made Gainax known for something besides Evangelion.  It’s fun, random, and has great albeit deranged animation.  (OT: Panty & Stocking sucks)  This is one you’re bound to watch over and over until something comes out of your head.

"Hollywood, better not screw up the movie or they will bring you to justice!"

Cyborg 009 (2001)

This is one of my favorite anime ever.  The show is centers around a group of cyborgs, each one from a different country.  And they manage to escape the stereotypes around them by the power of character development, even the comic relief has some depth to him.  Needless to say, they can beat up the Planeteers.  Unfortunately, the show never finished its run on Cartoon Network or the series never had a complete release.  Damn you Sony!  Must you screw over the geeks?

"COME FLY WITH US! COME DIE WITH US!"

Super Dimension Fortress Macross

Look, no offense to the legacy of Carl Macek, but Robotech is nothing more than a dumbed down version of Macross.  The story of war, romance, & giant is a lot better when it’s more faithful to its roots.  Either subbed or the 2005 redub, witness the unedited with the real Lynn Minmay and not that annoying wannabe, her cousin is still an ass though.

"YOU WA SHOCK!! The sky falls with love!"

Fist of the North Star

Holy crap is this show epic, a classic if there ever was one.  Mad Max meets Bruce Lee in this anime that’s made in a time where you can see a guy’s head exploding, blood & all.  It’s over 180 episodes long but man it’s worth it to see Kenshiro blowing away his enemies by punching the hell out of him.  You can find this on Hulu & Crunchyroll.

Well, that’s all I can think of.  Maybe next week I can do something I want to do.  Happy Anime Week!

Comments
  1. Sketch says:

    Well someone’s an over-achiever with more than 3 but the list did not disappoint. Quite a range of material here. Great stuff Don.

  2. I don’t think enough love is given to Outlaw Star. I love Cowboy Bebop and all, but there’s something about Outlaw Star that makes me like it more than Bebop. Also, Cyborg 009 is darn good.

  3. […] Tweets, and Facebook messages the post received, my own fellow ‘Padders tried their best to get me onto the anime bandwagon. Shortly thereafter, I announced via Twitter that my posts for this […]

Leave a Reply

