The Animation Capitol of the World

Posted: June 4, 2010 by toonfaithful in Animation Editorials, ToonamiFaithful

Hey guys ToonFaithful here and I know it’s been awhile so I thought I would start off with a bang. I think you can guess what this article is about judging from the title and the picture above. It’s about Nicktoons. Not Nicktoons Network but Nicktoons. I’ve been with Nicktoons since the channel debuted. I remember turning on my television and seeing Invader Zim but now I turn on my television and see Speed Racer. I’m going to talk about how Nicktoons progressed over the years.

During the first years of Nicktoons, the programming was great. Invader Zim, Rugrats, Angry Beavers, Rocko’s Modern Life, etc. Sure there weren’t any “new episodes” but it felt like another Boomerang to me. I actually don’t want it to become another Boomerang but instead what it is today without death-slotting classic nicktoons. Now the bumpers, promos, segments were awesome. Anybody remember the segment called Johnnie Talk? It was when a random person came into the restroom and Johnnie somewhere in there asks these questions. Funny stuff. Now back to the bumpers. I miss how the bumpers were on Nicktoons. It actually symbolized the shows unlike today’s bumpers.

During 2005/2006, Nicktoons rebranded and changed it’s name to “Nicktoons Network”. With that, Nicktoons Network had a goal and that goal was to become the Animation Capitol of the World. The slogan was the only thing I liked about the rebrand other than that, the rebrand was bland. Anyways, more shows debuted on the network such as Martin Mystery(Awesome show, btw!), Kappa Mikey, etc. 

Now, Nicktoons Network has changed it’s name back to Nicktoons. I don’t like the current state of the channel but it has some nice shows on there. Dragon Ball Z Kai is airing on Nicktoons, an Avatar marathon is airing this month, Iron Man: AA is getting a second season in 2011, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and Power Rangers are airing in the future. I can enjoy Nicktoons at some points but I don’t think it’s a network I can sit through the day.

Leave a Reply

